Date: Thursday, 11 May 2017

Kiwi cyclist Eddie Dawkins is in the running to claim back-to-back Southland Senior Sportsperson of the Year Awards at the Southland Sports Awards in Invercargill.

Dawkins is joined as a finalist in the Senior Sportsperson category by fellow Rio medallist Genevieve Behrent from rowing, along with All Blacks rugby loose forward Elliot Dixon, Southern Steel netball captain Wendy Frew, well performed World Shearing Championships shearer Nathan Stratford and clay target shooting's Colin Waghorn.

Twenty-nine finalists representing 14 different sports have been announced as finalists for the awards.

With Olympic medal winners, age group world and national title holders and plenty of national winners among them, there is a stellar lineup of athletes, teams, coaches, administrators and officials.

Sport Southland chief executive Brendon McDermott said the quality was once again, outstanding.

"To see the lineup of finalists – from shearers to Olympic Weightlifting officials to All Blacks and Olympians – is inspirational," he said.

"These people work so hard for the results they have achieved, and to see so many Southlanders excel at international and national level is something we should all, as fellow Southlanders, be extremely proud of."

The ILT Southland Sports Awards will be celebrated on Friday June 9 at the Ascot Park Hotel.

With legendary broadcaster Keith Quinn announced as guest speaker, LA Social locked in to entertain and 29 exceptional finalists to celebrate, the evening promises a fantastic night out, McDermott said.

Tickets are available from Sport Southland.

At a glance

The finalists

Senior Sportsperson: Genevieve Behrent (Rowing), Eddie Dawkins (Cycling), Elliot Dixon (Rugby), Wendy Frew (Netball), Nathan Stratford (Shearing), Colin Waghorn (Clay Target Shooting).

Junior Sportsperson: Jack Beaumont (Athletics), Bradly Knipe (Cycling), Sammy Murrell (Football), Alena Saili (Rugby), Tom Sexton (Cycling).

Southland Team of the Year: Emma Cumming and Ellesse Andrews (Cycling), Netball South Beko Team (Netball), Southern Steel (Netball), Southland U18 Mixed Touch Team (Touch), SGHS First XV (Rugby), Southland Women's Senior Hockey (Hockey).

Southland Coach of the Year: Joe Findley (Rowing), Nathan Muir (Rugby), Dennis Thompson (Touch), Karl Watson (Cycling).

Administrator of the Year: Norma Burns (Motor Sport), Jason Domigan (Cricket), Mike Hogan (Shearing).

Official of the Year: Barbara Grieve (Olympic Weightlifting), Richie Heap (Touch), Kristie Simpson (Netball).

Masters Achievement of the Year: Trevor Colyer (Squash), Erin Criglington (Cycling).

Article courtesy Stuff

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5