Date: Tuesday, 11 May 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland


BikeNZ has named a 35-strong shortlist squad to be in contention for the cycling team to contest the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi in October.

The squad will be trimmed to 27 riders to compete on the road and track at the Games, due to team number restrictions.

The track group is based on the successful contingent that won a record four medals at the recent world championships in Copenhagen, while the road squad includes virtually all of the New Zealand riders competing for professional teams in the USA or Europe.

The endurance track team includes world championship medallists from the men's pursuit group of Sam Bewley, Wes Gough, Marc Ryan, Jesse Sergent and Peter Latham and the women's pursuiters including 2009 world champion Alison Shanks, Jaime Nielsen, Gemma Dudley, Lauren Ellis and Rushlee Buchanan.

Other riders have been added to this squad including 2009 world omnium champion Hayden Godfrey, who narrowly missed out on world championship selection this year after an accident just before the national championships in February.

There are five sprinters named including the impressive Eddie Dawkins and triple world junior champion Sam Webster.

The road squad is impressive with leading European-based professionals indicating their availability led by five-time Tour de France finisher Julian Dean, Tour of Spain stage winner Greg Henderson and double Olympic track medallist Hayden Roulston.

The women's road squad is also strong, led by former Danish rider Linda Villumsen, third in last year's world championship time trial, Beijing Olympians Cath Cheatley and Joanne Kiesanowski and Italian-based professional Kaytee Boyd. Kiesanowski and Boyd are also included in the track squad.

There are also places for two domestic-based riders in the popular Gordon McCauley, a medallist at the Melbourne Commonwealth Games, and Melissa Holt, who won the time trial titles at the national championships in January.

Several members of the endurance track squad not on professional road teams overseas will head to Europe this month where they will compete as a team in the Tour of Ireland and then complete an endurance training phase in Belgium.

The Commonwealth Games track squad will complete their final preparations at the top velodrome facility at Boudreaux in France.

The road team are expected to have a final shakedown at the world championships near Melbourne a week before their race in New Delhi.

A final selection for the track team will be made at the end of July and the road team later, with recommendations forwarded to the New Zealand Olympic Committee.

Short list squad:-

Track: Shane Archbold (Timaru), Sam Bewley (Rotorua), Eddie Dawkins (Invercargill), Aaron Gate (Auckland), Hayden Godfrey (Christchurch), Wes Gough (Waipukurau), Peter Latham (Te Awamutu), Ethan Mitchell (Auckland), Marc Ryan (Timaru), Tom Scully (Invercargill), Jesse Sergent (Feilding), Myron Simpson (Auckland), Adam Stewart (Christchurch), Simon Van Velthooven (Palmerston North), Sam Webster (Auckland).

Road: Clinton Avery (Rotorua), Jack Bauer (Nelson), Patrick Bevin (Taupo), Heath Blackgrove (Waimate), Glen Chadwick (Taranaki), Julian Dean (Rotorua), Tim Gudsell (Te Awamutu), Greg Henderson (Dunedin), Gordon McCauley (Auckland), Hayden Roulston (Christchurch), Jeremy Vennell (Hawkes Bay).


Track: Rushlee Buchanan (Te Awamutu), Gemma Dudley (Levin), Lauren Ellis (Hinds), Jaime Nielsen (Hamilton), Alison Shanks (Dunedin), Joanne Kiesanowski (Christchurch), Kaytee Boyd (Waiuku).

Road: Boyd, Catherine Cheatley (Wanganui), Melissa Holt (Cambridge), Kiesanowski, Linda Villumsen (Auckland)

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5