Date: Monday, 25 September 2017

Another defining year on the world track cycling stage saw elite sprinter Eddie Dawkins named the Elite Rider of the Year at Cycling Southland's prizegiving awards on Friday night.

Named Cycling New Zealand's Face of the Year in 2016, Dawkins showed he was on form for the Rio Olympics with a new track record for the Flying Lap in Cotbus and then secured his team silver at the Olympics with a true showman ride at anchor.

He returned from the Oceanias with two golds and silver, proving he is still at the top of his game.

The annual awards recognise the achievements of riders along with the countless hours that volunteers commit to the club to help deliver many quality track and road events held each year.

The Senior Rider of the Year was again awarded to international masters medallist Erin Criglington who will again be competing at the Masters Track Cycling World Championships in Los Angeles, next month.

First-year U19 rider Nicole Shields, from Alexandra, received the junior rider of the year following an outstanding year at Track Nationals that resulted in her selection for the Junior Worlds in August.

National time trial gold medallist Rhylee Akeroyd was named the U15 rider of the year and Marshall Erwood received the newcomer award. The junior off the bike award went to Danya Jamieson for her volunteer help at major events.

Setting a new national record and taking gold in the time trial, along with a couple of silvers, at her first Track Nationals in March, Tienke Venter was named senior newcomer, while her husband Eugene Bonthuys was awarded the Peter Kissell Memorial for the senior off the bike award,

Contribution awards went to Don Frew who received the Laurie Tall Cup for contribution to junior cycling, Waine Harding received the Tony Ineson Cup for senior cycling and Nick Harris received the Peter Grandiek Cup for masters.

Most improved went to first-year under 17 Conor Shearing who capped off a great year with an early acceptance into the SIT Zero Fees Southern Performance Hub.

Special contribution awards went to long-serving sprint coach Nick Harris who stepped back from the role earlier this year, along with Junior Division president Shane Harvey, long-standing club volunteer Alan Strong, and Corporate Pursuit and fundraising driver Sharyon Ralph.

The volunteer of the year award was presented to Andy Blay who supervises Cyclofit sessions three mornings a week, as well as spending countless hours on club bike maintenance and repairs.

Photo courtesy Dianne Manson, Getty

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5