Date: Thursday, 03 May 2012
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Read Dale's daily Tour Diary :: Day 1 - Tues | Day 2 - Wed | Day 3 - Thurs

Laura Heywood wins bronze at Club Road Nationals3/5/2012 - Cycling Southland was in the medals on the opening day of racing at the 2012 Club Road Nationals.

Laura Heywood (left) has claimed the bronze medal in the Under 17 Girls Time Trial. Heywood recorded a time of 26 minutes 36 for the 15 kilometre distance, just 13 seconds behind silver medal winner Madison Farrant of Hamilton City Cycling Club. 

The national title went the way of Pegasus' Holly Edmondston, the pre-race favourite, in a time of 25:58. Wakatipu's Georgia Vessey placed 10th with a time of 27:50 and Invercargill's Brooke Brazier, on the comeback from injury, finished 21st in 28:48.

Jennifer Muhl (25:32) took out the bronze in the classy Under 19 Women's Time Trial with Southland and Junior Worlds track representative Sophie Williamson (24:27) taking the gold from Counties Manakau's Devon Hiley.

Josh Carpenter finished 6th in a highly competitive Under 15 Boys category, recording a time of 27:25 in an event won by Bike Manawatu's Campbell Stewart. 

Michael Culling narrowly missed a podium finish by just eight seconds, finishing fifth in the Under 17 Boys category with a time of 23:07. Nick Kergozou finished 22nd.

Club Nationals Tandem PodiumBrehan Cairns claimed fifth in the Under 23 Men with 59:42 with the national title going to Pegasus' Richard Lawson in 56:35. Club-mate Sam Horgan lkived up to his favourites tag to take out the Elite Men's title.

Phillipa Gray and pilot Laura Thompson (right) took gold in winning the tandem Para-Cycling category and recorded a factoring score of 101.7%. Southland's Kylie Young piloted Kapiti Coast's Jayne Parsons in to second place.

Meanwhile, Cycling Southland's latest addition Andrew Ward, who has relocated to the deep south from Manawatu for work, finished 17th in the Masters 3 Men in a time of 40:31.

Top seeds Dylan Kennett (33:51) and Nick Bain (34:34) were last away and finished 1, 2 in the Under 19 Men's event with Hamish Schreurs (34:44) taking bronze. Wakatipu's Tom Vessey was the best of the southerners finishing fifth in 35:21, ahead of Matt Zenovich who placed 7th with 36:01. Liam Aitcheson (Wakatipu) also recorded a top ten finish with his 36:19 good enough for ninth. Junior World track representative Tom Beadle finished 17th in 37:10 with Josh Haggerty having to contend with a massive nose-bleed in his effort before finish 21st in 31:54. Nelson's Kristoff Ford rode in Southland colours and finished 36th in 40:02, one place ahead of Wakatipu's Ryan Mackay (40:34.)

The championships continue Friday with Josh Carpenter in the Under 15 Boy's road race over 29 kilometres, Michael Culling and Nick Kergozou in the under 17 Boys race over 75km, Laura Heywood, Brooke Brazier and wakatipu's Georgia Vessey racing 47 km in the Under 17 Girls and Tom Beadle, Josh Haggerty, Matt Zenovich and Paddy Daly joining Wakatipu's Tom Vessey, Liam Aitcheson and Ryan Mackay in the 116km Under 19 Men's race.







Under 15 Boys Josh Carpenter 9:03 6th 27:25
Under 17 Girls Brooke Brazier 9:05 21st 28:48
  Laura Heywood 9:27 3rd 26:36
  Georgia Vessey (Waka) 9:32 10th 27:50
Under 19 Women Jennifer Muhl 9:46 3rd 25:32
  Sophie Williamson (Waka) 9:50 1st 24:27
Under 17 Boys Nick Kergozou 10:55 22nd 24:46
  Michael Culling 11:02 5th 23:07
Under 23 Men Brehan Cairns 11:18 5th 59:42
Para-cycling Tandem Phillipa Gray 11:46 1st 101.7%
Master 3 Men Andrew Ward 12:55 17th 40:31
Under 19 Men Ryan Mackay (Waka) 1:53 37th 40:34
  Josh Haggerty 1:57 21st 37:54
  Matthew Zenovich 2:07 7th 36:01
  Tom Beadle 2:12 17th 37:10
  Liam Aitcheson (Waka) 2:13 9th 36:19
  Tom Vessey (Waka) 2:15 5th 35:21
  Kristoff Ford 2:24 36th 40:02
© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5