Date: Tuesday, 17 January 2012
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Dylan Kennett wins the 2012 Gore to Invercargill

Junior Worlds representative Dylan Kennett again showed his class in winning a riveting Gore to Invercargill Classic last night.

After giving the front-markers a 30-minute head-start in Gore, Kennett was part of a scratch bunch which bided its time before reeling in the hard-working frontrunners at Kennington - just over five kilometres from the finish.

Barry Harcourt completes the Gore to InvercargillVeteren Barry Harcourt was chasing a record-equalling third Gore to Invercargill title and he was assisted in his cause by Erin Criglington, Shirlene Rollo,  Georgia Timpany and Bruce Jenkins who worked well together to stay away.

But when the catch finally came, it came in a rush and ended with an epic sprint finish on Tay Street.

Sequoia Cooper is the first woman home in the Gore to InvercargillTom Scully made his move 200 metres out but in the end Kennett would not be denied, beating home Pieter Bulling and Mark Spessot, with Scully having to be content with third.

Kennett also took out the Fastest Time and Junior Fastest Time to complete a healthy pay-day.

Sequoia Cooper claimed the first woman home from Erin Criglington and Georgia Timpany.



1st - Dylan Kennett, 2nd - Pieter Bulling, 3rd - Mark Spessot, 4th - Tom Scully, 5th - Hamish Tomlinson, 6th - Justin Stott, 7th - Michael White, 8th - Tayla Harrison, 9th - Daniel Ellison, 10th - Brad Tuhi


1st - Sequoia Cooper, 2nd - Erin Criglington, 3rd - Georgia Timpany

Fastest Time

1st - Dylan Kennett, 2nd - Pieter Bulling, 3rd - Mark Spessot

Fastest Junior

1st - Dylan Kennett, 2nd Tayla Harrison, 3rd - Danial Ellison

Brydone Hill Climb

1st - Kylea Gough, 2nd - Shirlene Rollo, 3rd - Barry Harcourt

Seaward Downs Hill Climb

1st - Georgia Timpany, 2nd - Erin Criglington, 3rd - Sarah Tomlinson

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5