Date: Saturday, 28 August 2010
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Idyllic conditions greeted a large field of riders for Cycling Southland’s Memorial Handicap Road Races on Saturday.

Over 100 riders lined up for Junior and Senior road races covering distances up to 102 kilometres through Gorge Road, Waimahaka and Seaward Downs.

Kieran Caldwell took overall honours, completing his journey in a shade over three hours to claim first place from Rikki Griffin who crossed second and John Kissell who placed third.

Caldwell’s club racing season has been dogged by mechanical difficulties but he showed his strength on Saturday working with Griffin over the mid-stages of the race to successfully break free and ultimately ride away to a comfortable win with a strong solo effort over the final 20 kilometres to claim the Murray McLeay Trophy.

It was not a day for the Scratch riders, the perfect conditions making it difficult for them to eat into the handicap to the front markers, but Shane Melrose who was part of a strong Otago contingent, took fastest time honours, outsprinting Dillon Bennett and Mark Spessot to the line to etch his name on the LK Wilson trophy with a time of 2 hours 34 minutes and 13 seconds.

In the Junior Division event Kate Dunlevy’s powerful sprint finish saw her claim the Curtis Lee Dunn Memorial from Jen Muhl and Georgia Timpany. This strong group combined well to hold of the fast finishing scratch bunch by 45 seconds. Liam Aitchison took fastest time honours. The Junior Division Two race was won by Hamish Beadle, who also claimed the fastest time, from Laura Heywood and Georgia Vessey. Laura Copeland rode hard and was unlucky not to hold on for a victory, being gobbled up by the chasing bunch over the final 600 metres.

The day was also notable with representations from the McLeay and Hewitt families who were on hand to present the trophies named in their family members’ memory. Simon McLeay travelled from Auckland to ride the race, finishing a very creditable 23rd overall

Cycling Southland Chief Executive Nick Jeffrey was honoured to have the families present. “This weekend is one of the most important in our Club year. It gives us a chance to recognize all of those who have given so much to our Club and to our sport in years past and to remember their contribution in the most fitting way, with good hard racing,” he said.

The Otago Southland rivalry is set to continue this weekend as Cycling Southland hosts the South Island Teams Time Trial Championships on Saturday. Southland keen to win back the title it lost on Otago soil twelve months ago.

For full results from Saturday’s Memorial Racing see the results section (if these can be posted there or in the article that would be outstanding)

Cycling Southland Senior 100km Memorial Handicap

1st         Kieran Caldwell  (3hr 01 min 55 sec)
2nd        Rikki Griffin
3rd         John Kissell
4th         Emma Sutherland
5th         Colin Horton
6th         Mike Matheson
7th         Shirlene Rollo
8th         Marcus White
9th         Sam Kopae
10th       Amy Marshall

Fastest Time
1st         Shane Melrose  (2 hr 34 min 13 sec)
2nd        Dillon Bennett
3rd         Mark Spessot

Fastest Female
1st         Beth Hamilton    (2 hr 53 min 01sec)
2nd        Sequoia Cooper
3rd         Gabby Vermunt

Martin Verbeek Trophy (Division 3)
Kieran Caldwell

Bunty Hewitt Trophy (Division 2)
Kylie Young

Murray McLeay Trophy (Overall Winner)
Kieran Caldwell

Junior Memorial Handicap

Div 1
1st         Kate Dunlevy
2nd        Jennifer Muhl
3rd         Georgia Timpany

Fastest Time
1st         Liam Aitchison

Div 2
1st         Hamish Beadle
2nd        Laura Heywood
3rd         Georgia Vessey

Fastest Time
1st         Hamish Beadle

Curtis Lee Dunn Memorial Trophy
Kate Dunlevy

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5