Date: Wednesday, 21 June 2023

Two Southlanders will be heading to Glasgow as part of the New Zealand team for the UCI Track World Championships. Tom Sexton and Nick Kergozou have been selected as part of the men's endurance squad, where they will take part alongside Aaron Gate, Campbell Stewart, and George Jackson, with Regan Gough also provisionally selected.

Sexton will be looking to build on some excellent results over the last year, including a Commonwealth Games gold medal in the team pursuit and a silver medal in the individual pursuit, while Kergozou will be looking to make his mark not only as a strong member of the endurance team, but potentially aim to make the final of the 1000m time trial (the Kilo) again as he did at the 2022 World Championships.

The track competition will be taking place from the 3rd to the 9th of August in Glasgow, which will be hosting a combined World Championship featuring road, track, BMX, MTB, para-cycling, and trials.

The full team is:

Men’s Sprint:

Sam Dakin (Auckland), Callum Saunders (Marlborough) – conditional selection

Women’s Sprint:

Ellesse Andrews (Canterbury), Shaane Fulton (Tasman), Olivia King (Waikato), Rebecca Petch (Waikato).

Men’s Endurance:

Aaron Gate (Auckland), Regan Gough (Hawkes Bay) – conditional; George Jackson (Wellington), Nick Kergozou (Southland), Tom Sexton (Southland), Campbell Stewart (Manawatu). Keegan Hornblow (Tasman) – non-travelling reserve.

Women’s Endurance:

Bryony Botha (Auckland), Samantha Donnelly (Canterbury), Michaela Drummond (Manawatu), Emily Shearman (Manawatu), Ally Wollaston (Waikato). Rylee McMullen (Waikato) – non-travelling reserve.

© Copyright 2023 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5