Date: Monday, 20 January 2014
Posted by: Cycling Southland

Night two of the ILT New Year Track Carnival saw the speed and battles for the wins continue at the SIT Zero Fees Velodrome on Saturday night with hotly contested fields across all divisions and age groups.


A highlight of the evening was the welcome return to the boards of former Olympian sprinter Natasha Hansen who heralded her arrival with an inspiring ride to win the Open Invitational Keirin from fellow training mates Stephanie McKenzie in second and Kirstie James in third. The tight trio continued to challenge throughout the ensuing events with James taking a superb win over Hansen and Sequoia Cooper in third in the Elite women’s mystery preme scratch race.

The Elite Men’s Open Invitational Keirin saw Jeremy Presbury continue his great form to take first from Alex Hooper (Ashburton), with Karl Watson (Southland) in third.

Tight battles continued throughout the Elite men’s events and it was Josh Haggerty and reigned supreme in the Mystery Preme Scatch race over Waimate’s Andy van der Heyden and Southland’s Nick Kergozou.

Kergozou got his own back taking out the Cycling Southland trophy for the Senior Men’s Wheel Race from Presbury, with Pieter Bulling third and the ever-tight field of Southland U17 boys riding comrades continued their track battles with a dominant Hamish Beadle featuring throughout the night’s wins to take out the OJ Henderson Trophy for the U17 Wheel Race Final from Brayden Stephens and Tom Sexton in a super-fast time. Full race results from both nights are available at

Yesterday, breezy but fine conditions greeted riders for the Ascot Park Hotel Criterium.
First off were the U13 and U15 riders, with a stellar ride from Timaru rider Connor Leov seeing him take the U13 title from locals Hunter Gough and Josh Miller.
Strong Christchurch riders Sammi Olge and Jessie Banks took out the U15 girls race from Madeline Gough.
Hamish Keast was dominant from the start of the U15 boys race, lapping the field and taking the win, with 2nd and 3rd coming down to a sprint between the chasers, Corbin Strong taking 2nd place from Jared Pidcock.

The U17 racing was fast and furious, with Christchurch rider Christine Lambley breaking away to take the win in the girls division from local track star Emma Cumming, with Isabella Smith in 3rd.
The boys race was incredibly fast, with a break of three riders quickly establishing a solid lead, Brayden Stephens unleashing an excellent sprint to take the win from Hayden Strong and Tom Sexton.

In the Division 3 race Kylea Gough took the win convincingly from sister Nicola Stevens and Shona Proctor McGrath.
Up and coming track star Kirstie James took the Division 3 win from strong local crit rider Daryl Haggerty and Craig Sadlier.

Local masters hero Mike White took the win in an excellent Division 2 race, with Timaru rider Craig Domigan 2nd from Jake Marryatt.

The Division 1 race also saw the pace on from the gun, with James Williamson and Andy van der Hayden establishing an early break, soon joined by Josh Haggerty, eventually taking a lap on the field. Van der Hayden and Williamson then continued straight through the field and off the front again, taking a 2nd lap, with Williamson eventually taking the win from van der Hayden, leaving Haggerty for 3rd.

The New Year Cycling Series concludes tonight with the 86th Gore to Invercargill 66km Classic Senior Road Race.


Ascot Park Hotel Criterium Results
1 Connor Leov
2 Hunter Gough
3 Josh Miller

U15 Girls
1 Jesse Banks
2 Sammi Olge
3 Madeline Gough

U15 Boys
1 Hamish Keast
2 Corbin Strong
3 Jared Pidcock

U17 Girls
1 Christine Lambley
2 Emma Cumming
3 Isabella Smith

U17 Boys
1 Brayden Stephens
2 Hayden Strong
3 Tom Sexton

Division 4
1 Kylea Gough
2 Nicola Stevens
3 Shona Proctor-McGrath

Division 3
1 Kirstie James
2 Daryl Haggerty
3 Craig Sadlier

Division 2
1 Mike White
2 Craig Domigan
3 Jake Marryatt

Division 1
1 James Williamson
2 Andy van der Hayden
3 Josh Haggerty

© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5