Date: Friday, 01 February 2013
Posted by: Cycling Southland


BikeNZ’s world class sprinters produced some world class times as the records continued to tumble on the second day of qualifying at the national track cycling championships in Invercargill.

Buoyed by balmy conditions and the renowned slick surface of the Stadium Southland Velodrome, the male sprinters went under the previous national record three times in the 200m sprint qualifying.

Invercargill’s Mat Archibald, who clocked a remarkable 9.937s at altitude in the Mexico World Cup two weeks ago, was first under the previous record with a 10.101s, which was also bettered by local star Eddie Dawkins with a 10.074.

However former triple world junior champion, Sam Webster regained his own record when he went fastest with a 10.074 in a superb display of world class sprinting.

Yesterday’s 250m standing lap winner Ethan Mitchell (Auckland) was fourth fastest in 10.140 while 1000m time trial winner Simon Van Velthooven was fifth fastest in 10.254 – both setting national records in the title winning efforts on the first night.

Mitchell had the toughest fight, just edging out Van Velthooven by half a wheel in the quarterfinal and moves to the semifinals along with Webster, Dawkins and Archibald.

National record holder Natasha Hansen (Southland), beaten in both the 250m and 500m time trials yesterday, bounced back with an impressive 11.261s to qualify top in the women’s sprints ahead of Otago’s Katie Schofield (11.653) and Southland’s Stephanie McKenzie (11.414).

Hansen, McKenzie, Schofield and Paige Paterson (Auckland) progressed through from the quarterfinals to tonight’s semifinals.

In the under-19 racing, Ashburton’s Alex Hooper topped the qualifiers in the 3000m individual pursuit (3:23.979) ahead of Christchurch’s Connor Stead in the men, while Invercargill’s Laura Heywood was fastest in qualifying in the 2000m pursuit in 2:30.364 ahead of Waimate’s Holly Edmondston.


© Copyright 2024 Cycling Southland. All rights reserved.
Powered by Flatout CMS v5